5 Personal Benefits of a Plant Based Diet

Well you’ve come here for a reason, right?top-5

I’m going to guess the benefits of what you can likely experience by opting for a plant based diet (lifestyle).

The following will cover my 5 top benefits I’ve experienced and what I know is common among others like you that have decided to make the positive change.

So lets get to them!

Discovery of Your New Found Self-Awareness

Everyone says they know themselves well, those also will admit it’s better to know themselves more.

Whether that’d be their personal body or their personality and character. I’ve certainly gone through changes in both areas. I won’t go on explaining how these single handedly are life altering but I hope the examples listed below will help you understand part of the ‘Why’ of changing to a Plant Based Diet.best-weight-loss

  1. Less congestion and more mental and breathing clarity.
  2. Loss of weight. I’ve personally lost (and maintained) 5lbs which isn’t much for some but for myself it’s notable.
  3. Less need to clean my ears and eyes to as little as once a month.
  4. A new level of open mindedness.

I have come to read other transformations of people experiencing these same things after changing!

Discovery of new found knowledge and common myths.

I love learning!

And when I was transitioning (and still today) I was researching what this diet was all about.

One thing was for sure, and that is how I was feeling after completing my first triathlon meant my diet needed to change. So I began to research from mostly YouTube to start. Now I read books by experts, scientific articles from journals like America Journal of Clinical Nutrition, and public health cites such as Harvard School of Public Health and Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM).

One really great source I found was NutritionFacts.Org which is a website and a Youtube channel. Dr. Michael Gregor works for PCRM and runs this not-for-profit site that simplifies vital information about nutrition and health by reading every English language scientific article in the world and distilling the information down in short 2 – 6 min videos.  myth-stamp

Here are some of the myths I’ve learned.

  1. Sugar doesn’t cause Type 2 Diabetes.
  2. Only animal foods have protein.
  3. Some whole plants aren’t a complete protein.
  4. You need a lot of protein to be healthy.
  5. Animal foods are the best source of protein.
  6. Exercise is the main contributor of weight loss.

Discovery of a new level of energy and health.

Most people complain about being tired…that’s exactly why there’s products like 5 Hour Energy, Red Bull Energy Drinks, or all the coffee shops.

None of which I endorse, and sorry if you now have cravings 😉

I have given up all those months before I went vegan so I think my body had adjusted to the zero stimulants well before I went vegan but even then I have a higher, more consistent energy after changing and here are a few reasons I think why:tmp624999336408776706

  1. A whole food plant based diet is higher in carbohydrates, vitamins & minerals, low in bad fats, low in total fat, and higher in healthy fiber (which limits energy [blood sugar] spikes and keeps your energy consistent).
  2. I believe the choices involving being vegan are altruistic and have a positive effect on mental well-being.

You see, every day a change can be created by what You eat; a positive change towards to Your health, the well-being of other people on the planet, the well-being of animals, and the environment.

I believe growing to know these over time has played another role in my attitude and energy.

Hmmm… More Food Options

Ok,

so you may be thinking

‘But, aren’t you cutting out food? Food groups like meat, diary, seafood, and poultry.’

Yes, you’re right.

But, you’re still eating food groups like:

  1. Legumes – Chickpeas, Red Kidney Beans, Black 12645248_10153751810226508_8132861222017149628_nKidney Beans, Soy Beans, Green Peas, Lentils, Tofu (made from Soy Beans)…and more.
  2. Grains – Brown Rice, Wild Rice, Millet, Amaranth, Oats, Barley, Buckwheat, Whole Rye, Whole Wheat Pasta… and more.
  3. Non-animal dairy – Almond, Soy, and Rice are some of my favorites.
  4. Fruits – Mango, Banana, Papaya, Dragon Fruit, Peaches, Apples… and many more.
  5. Vegetables – Dark Leafy vegetables like Kale, Spinach, and Swiss Chard. Red and Orange Vegetables like Carrots, Pumpkin, Butternut Squash, and Tomatoes. Starchy vegetables like Yams, Sweet Potatoes, and Corn. And others like Beets, Mushrooms, onions, bell peppers, and many more.

I promise these foods are healthier and there’s a whole lot more foods within plant food groups than in animal food groups. I have naturally started incorporating foods I’ve never eaten before and actually now like tomatoes and avocados, and I now eat
a lot more leafy greens and tasty fruits.

Great New Relationships
52998-ExcellentQuotations.com-Randolf-G

I won’t lie to you. There’s much less vegans and vegetarians than animal eating people.

I also don’t want to say animal eating people aren’t compassionate or have an altruistic view, because it’s not true of course.

But I will say that, generally, vegans and vegetarians have made a strong emotional and/or psychological connection to the benefits of changing their diet and lifestyle. I’ve personally found a great sense of character in vegans and I love to have great people in my life.

Conclusion

Well, I hope I gave you insight on the benefits from my perspective. I also hope this has provided more reason for you to keep on being vegan or I inspired you to be that much closer to becoming %100 vegan like me or at least have a salad today.

Thanks for reading and I hope you found this beneficial.

Don’t forget to subscribe for more from myself! My other social platforms can be found by clicking the icons on the right hand bar where you can see what I eat, what I do for training to cycle across Canada, and inspiration.

Carson McQuarrie

Leave a Reply

